EVANSTON, ILLINOIS — Sigma Chi International Fraternity recognizes the individuals and groups that work in service to the organization, its members and the communities to which Sigma Chi belongs as part of its annual alumni awards. The 2023 honorees will receive their awards through local presentations. Below is the list of award winners:

Erwin L. LeClerg Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award

Established in 1972, this award recognizes the most outstanding chapter advisor(s) in the Fraternity. The award is named for Order of Constantine Sig Erwin L. LeClerg, COLORADO STATE 1923. LeClerg was a Grand Praetor of the Eastern province, a member of the Executive Committee and an advisor to the undergraduate chapters at Colorado State, Louisiana State, George Washington and Maryland.

2023 Recipient:

  • Martin Trail, Idaho 1984; Advisor at Gamma Eta – Idaho
Jay E. Minton Best Alumni Chapter Officer Award

This award was created in 1928, and in 1975 was named in honor of Order of Constantine Sig Jay E. Minton Sr., MISSOURI-COLUMBIA 1920, past alumni chapter officer and vice president of the Order of Constantine. The award recognizes outstanding leadership, administration, Fraternity relations and service, effectiveness and improvement by an officer in his alumni chapter.

2023 Recipient:

  • Scott Christie, Dalhousie-St. Mary’s 1990; Halifax Alumni Chapter President
William T. Bringham Best House Corporation Officer Award

First presented in 1974, the William T. Bringham Best House Corporation Officer Award is named for Order of Constantine Sig and Significant Sig William T. Bringham, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 1946, Sigma Chi’s executive secretary from 19541989. This award is given to the house corporation officer who has demonstrated outstanding loyalty to Sigma Chi through personal leadership, time and effort.

2023 Recipient:

  • Ken Rees, North Alabama 1983; North Alabama House Corp President
Seven Lights Alumni Award

The Seven Lights Alumni Award is presented to alumni members who have demonstrated significant service to the Fraternity. To be eligible for this award, a recipient must have 10 or more years experience as an active Fraternity alumnus. No more than 28 Seven Lights Alumni Awards shall be given out annually. Order of Constantine inductees are not eligible to receive this award.

2023 Recipients:

  • Joshua Baggett, Austin Peay 2005
  • Benjamin Barnard, Valparaiso 2010
  • David Finlayson, Dalhousie-St. Mary’s 1998
  • Thomas Garrison, Northwestern 1964
  • James George, Rhode Island 1970
  • Carson Hallmark, North Alabama 2013
  • John Chris Lastrapes, Tulsa 2003
  • Zac McRae, Memphis 2000
  • Nicholas Nakamura, California-Merced 2009
  • Ron Powell, San Diego State 1985
  • Jim Sadler, McGill 1977
  • David Touwsma, Georgia Tech 1996
  • Rick Vanden Heuvel, Central Michigan 1980
  • Kurt Voldeng, Memphis 1989
  • James Vruggink, Central Michigan 1970
  • Stuart Walters, Tennessee-Chattanooga 1991