Class of 2024 Significant Sigs

Fraternity Announces Its 2024 Significant Sig Award Recipients

Sigma Chi International Fraternity has selected its recipients for the 2024 Significant Sig Award, which recognizes members who have achieved high levels of professional success.

Awarded annually since 1935, the Fraternity has honored fewer than 2,500 Sigma Chis with the Significant Sig Award.

Members of the 2024 class will receive their honor either at Sigma Chi’s 85th Grand Chapter in Aurora, Colorado, in June 2025 or at a local Fraternity event.

Previous winners include such notable Sigs as country music artist Luke Bryan, GEORGIA SOUTHERN 1999; former late-night talk show host David Letterman, BALL STATE 1969; and former Villanova University men’s basketball coach Jay Wright, BUCKNELL 1983, who coached the university to national championships in 2016 and 2018. 

The winners of this year’s award are:

Business, Entrepreneurship and Industry

Norman Bafunno, PURDUE 1983

James Bere Jr., INDIANA 1972

Roger John Bingham, OREGON 1973

William James Bliss, NORTHWESTERN 1986

Gregory John Burke, OHIO STATE 1978

George Carter III, ARIZONA STATE 1965

Dwight Lee Chapin, SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA 1963

Tony Dazzio, NEVADA-LAS VEGAS 1984

George Doetsch Jr., MARYLAND 1963

Order of Constantine Sig George Freeman, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 1970

Richard Guild, OKLAHOMA STATE 1979

Craig Huntington, OREGON STATE 1972

Anthony Andrew Kennada, PEPPERDINE 2008

Philip Lane, NORTHWESTERN 1987

Keith Edward Langbo, PURDUE 1998

John Laughter, GEORGIA TECH 1993

Edwin Lumpkin, ALABAMA 1974

Charles Maggelet, RENSSELAER 1986

William McGibbon, PENNSYLVANIA 1966

Charles Bruce McIntyre, WESTMINSTER 1963

Dana McManus, CAL. STATE-FRESNO 1972

Jack Mollenkopf Jr., PURDUE 1995

Joe Owen, MURRAY STATE 1965

David Pietrowski, SYRACUSE 1985

John Eric Pomeroy, PURDUE 1963

William Guthrie Scheible, EASTERN NEW MEXICO 1973

James Shields, IOWA 1963

Stephen Smolinske, WASHINGTON STATE 1983

Dr. James J. Tastard, Ph.D., CAL. STATE-LONG BEACH 1986

James Allen Thompson, TEXAS-AUSTIN 1970


Sports, Entertainment and Media


Leonard Shapiro, WISCONSIN-MADISON 1968

Don Mark Wright, ARKANSAS 1979

Engineering, Science and Medicine

Douglas Charles Burton, KANSAS STATE 1989

William Clark III, GEORGIA TECH 1977

Brian Houston Craig, PURDUE 1998

Dr. Jeffery Lane Curtis, MD, FORT HAYS 1977

Dr. Ravi Goel, MD, YALE 1993

Dr. Ronald Jones, MD, ARKANSAS 1953

Dr. Todd Mosher, Ph.D., SAN DIEGO STATE 1989

Finance, Insurance and Real Estate

Earle Cooper, FLORIDA and FLORIDA STATE 1977

Scott Daugherty, SAN JOSE STATE 1979


Thomas Lofaro, Esq., SAN DIEGO STATE 1991

Government and Law


Kirk Caraway, MEMPHIS 1994

James Bruce Culpepper, FLORIDA 1988

Andrew Haden, JD, STANFORD 2000

Wade Leon Hartley, BIRMINGHAM-SOUTHERN 1991

Thomas Heywood, STANFORD 1978

Hon. William Vanderpool Hilleary, TENNESSEE-KNOXVILLE 1981

Dale Miller, CASE WESTERN 1971

Blake Moore, UTAH and UTAH STATE 2004

Frank Ruff, RICHMOND 1971


Col. Jimmie Hathaway, OKLAHOMA 1991

Lt. Col. Charles Malcolm Sublett, BROWN 1968

Nonprofit, Religion and Education

David Cox, BALL STATE 1965


Joseph Charles Jennett, SOUTHERN METHODIST 1963

Anthony Rabasca, KENTUCKY 1965