The Sigma Chi Fraternity congratulates its newly selected 2012 alumni award winners. Presentation of the following awards were made at either the 2012 Grand Council in Cleveland on June 30, 2012, or they will be made at local ceremonies hosted by undergraduate or alumni chapters, associations or clubs.


Edna A. Boss Houseparent Award

2012 winner: Deborah A. Sutton, housemother of the chapter at Oklahoma State


In 1974, Sigma Chi established the Edna A. Boss Houseparent Award at the suggestion of the Delta Upsilon Chapter at Kansas State University. Alumni and undergraduates from the chapter provide financial support for the award, which is named for Edna A. Boss, who served as their houseparent for 20 years. 





William T. Bringham Best House Corporation Officer Award

2012 winners: Order of Constantine Sig Clarence Richard Barley, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 1954, house corporation treasurer of the chapter at University of California-Los Angeles, and John “Tony” Flores, CAL. STATE-FRESNO 1958, house corporation president of the chapter at Cal. State-Fresno


First presented in 1974, the William T. Bringham Best House Corporation Officer Award is named for Order of Constantine Sig William T. Bringham, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 1946, Sigma Chi’s executive secretary from 1954 to 1989. This award is given to the house corporation officer who has demonstrated outstanding loyalty to Sigma Chi through personal leadership, time and effort.



Erwin L. LeClerg Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award

2012 winners: Order of Constantine Sig Curtis R. Biller, MONTANA STATE 1987, chapter advisor of the chapter at North Dakota State University, and Richard B. Wrightington, LOUISVILLE 1991, chapter advisor of the chapter at the University of Louisville


Established in 1972, this award recognizes the most outstanding chapter advisors in the Fraternity. The award is named for Order of Constantine Sig Dr. Erwin L. LeClerg, COLORADO STATE 1923, former Eastern Province Grand Praetor, Executive Committee member and advisor to the chapters at Colorado State University, Louisiana State University, George Washington University and the University of Maryland.


Jay E. Minton Best Alumni Chapter Officer Award

2012 winners: Thomas “Kinny” Pugh, NORTH FLORIDA 2003, president of the Sarasota/Bradenton Alumni Chapter, and Harry H. Palmer, WASHINGTON (SEATTLE) 1975, president of the Dallas Alumni Chapter


Created in 1975, this award was named in honor of Order of Constantine Sig Jay E. Minton, MISSOURI-COLUMBIA 1917, former alumni chapter officer and vice president of the Order of Constantine. The award recognizes outstanding leadership, administration, Fraternity relations and service, effectiveness and improvement by an officer in his alumni chapter.


Donald B. Ward Alumni Chapter Community Service Award

2012 winner: Central Ohio Alumni Chapter


Named for Order of Constantine Sig Dr. Donald B. Ward, NORTHWESTERN 1942, this award was created in 1957 to recognize the alumni chapter that makes the most significant contribution to the welfare of its community or to a worthy regional, national or international charity.





Parents’ Club Award for Excellence

2012 winner: Parents’ club of the chapter at the University of Oklahoma


This award recognizes the parents’ club that has significantly contributed to the Sigma Chi experience of their sons and their respective undergraduate chapter. An annual award, it honors the support for a chapter’s operations, the club’s membership size and the longevity of the club.



The Seven Lights Alumni Award

2012 winners: Benjamin Acosta, SAN DIEGO STATE 1956; Robert A. Benz, AUBURN 1960; Larry F. Cukjati, PITTSBURG STATE 1975; John H. Foote Jr., CORNELL 1974; J. Kent Holbert, TEXAS A&M-COMMERCE 1972; Darryl J. Hunt, UNION 1987; Jerrold M. Jaiven, UNION 1973; Neil E. Kiely, BROWN 1974; Doug C. Miller, KANSAS 1971; J. David Nelson, TEXAS TECH 1973; Significant Sig Andy Nunemaker, VALPARAISO 1991; Peter V. Potwin, OREGON STATE 1972; Thomas W. Rich, BRADLEY 1968; Joel K. Ridle, WESTERN ILLINOIS 1989; Robert W. Robinson, EAST TENNESSEE 1976; Thomas W. Smith, EASTERN ILLINOIS 1971; and Significant Sig Hon. Gordon J. Whiting, CORNELL 1987.




This award is presented annually to alumni brothers who have demonstrated 10 or more years of service to the Fraternity. Nominees for the Seven Lights Alumni Award must be endorsed by at least three brothers, one of who must be a Grand Praetor, Grand Trustee, alumni chapter president or chapter advisor. A nominee must also be an alumnus of at least 10 years. Significant Sigs and Order of Constantine Sigs are discouraged from applying.