At the 2013 Balfour Leadership Training Workshop (LTW), from Aug. 1-4 at Purdue University in Indiana, Sigma Chi’s undergraduate chapters were recognized for their accomplishments. Seventy-two of the Fraternity’s 241 undergraduate chapters were honored with the Peterson Significant Chapter Award at the event, and others received recognition for their programming.
The Peterson Significant Chapter Award is presented to chapters do well on the annual General Fraternity annual report, which assesses operations. The Sigs at the California State University-San Bernardino, the University of Louisville, Bryant University and Birmingham-Southern College received the Peterson Gold Award, which means that they scored a 97 percent or higher on their application.
 Additionally, 68 chapters received the Peterson Blue Award, recognizing those that score between 90 and 96.99 percent on their applications.
The chapters at Brown University, the University of Memphis, Santa Clara University, the University of California-Merced, California State University-San Bernardino, and Birmingham-Southern College received the Legion of Honor Award, in recognition of their commendable educational programs that foster positive scholastic attitudes. Brown and Birmingham-Southern were noted as the award’s top-two winners; as part of the award, the Brown chapter received a $2,000 educational grant, while the Birmingham-Southern Sigs took home a $3,000 grant.
The Daniel William Cooper Award reflects the same ideals and criteria as the Legion of Honor Award does; it recognizes the chapter with the Fraternity’s most outstanding educational program. The 2013 winner was the chapter at the University of Louisville. Along with a commemorative plaque and the engraving of the chapter name on the Cooper Award trophy that is housed at Sigma Chi International Fraternity Headquarters, the Louisville chapter received a $5,000 grant to continue its educational programming.
Also, the James F. Bash Significant Improvement Award was presented to the chapters at California State University-Sacramento, Princeton University, the University of Kansas, Loyola University-Chicago, Southern Methodist University, Georgia Southwestern State University, Southern Utah University, Middle Tennessee State University and Radford University. The Bash Award is presented to chapters that demonstrate significant improvement in their total chapter operations, as defined by a sizable increase from the previous year in their scores on the Peterson Significant Chapter Award application.
Another award that was presented at Balfour LTW was the Robert E. Joseph Risk Management Foundation Award, which recognizes chapters’ risk management programming and education. Winners of the award were the chapters at Hillsdale College and the universities of Washington, Memphis and Texas-Austin. The top winner was the chapter at Stanford University.
See a list of award winners here.