The North-American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) released its 2012–13 All-American Greek-letter college football teams, with 21 Sigma Chis from two football divisions earning spots.
Leading the way was Significant Sig and Ohio State Head Coach Urban Meyer, CINCINNATI 1986, who was named the NIC’s NCAA Division I — FBS and FCS First Team Head Coach of the Year following the Buckeyes’ 12-0 regular season. Also earning first-team nods on the Division I first team was running back Marcorus Garrett, COLUMBIA 2014; linebacker Hayes Pullard, SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA 2012; and kick holder John Crofoot, FLORIDA 2013.
Earning first-team honorable mention are: wide receivers Hamilton Garner, COLUMBIA 2014; and Connor Nelligan, COLUMBIA 2015; offensive lineman Mason Y’Barbo, NORTH TEXAS 2015; defensive lineman Tracey Smith, BUCKNELL 2014; kicker Luke Eddy, COLUMBIA 2014; punter Paul Delaney, COLUMBIA 2014; and long snapper Brian Chacon, ARIZONA 2013.
Recording first-team honors on the NIC’s NCAA Division II/III/NAIA honorable mention team are quarterback Will Coyne, BELOIT 2016; wide receivers Dillon Hess, BELOIT 2013; Tate Musselman, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 2013; and Joe Musso, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 2013; offensive lineman Hayden Simonis, BELOIT 2014; defensive lineman Charlie Baker, DENISON 2013; Mike Kraft, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 2013; kicker Jimmy Nieman, ALBION 2013; punter Cameron Sobleski, WABASH 2014; and head coach Norm Eash, ILLINOIS WESLEYAN 1975.
Players are nominated by the various fraternities and chosen by members of the NIC based on their 2012–13 statistics.