2022 Undergraduate Chapter Awards

Find out which chapters earned the J. Dwight Peterson Significant Chapter Award, Daniel william Cooper Award and other honors

Sigma Chi International Fraternity ended the Krach Transformational Leaders Workshop held Aug. 2 to 6, 2022, at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio, by recognizing the success and improvements among undergraduate chapters across the United States and Canada.

The highest honor, the 2022 J. Dwight Peterson Significant Chapter Award, was presented to 67 groups at colleges and universities in North America.

Established in 1964, the Peterson Award recognizes chapters that achieve excellence in all operations, including academics, philanthropy, recruitment and Ritual performance.

After the Fraternity presented only one level of the Peterson Award last year due to the significant impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on chapter operations, it resumed presenting the two levels of the award this year. The Peterson Blue Award recognizes chapters that score between 90 percent and 96.99 percent on their applications, and the Peterson Gold Award recognizes chapters that register between 97 percent and 100 percent on their applications.

Four chapters received the Peterson Gold Award, with the New Haven chapter being the top scorer.

Other chapters received additional awards. The North Dakota State chapter received the Daniel William Cooper Award that honors the undergraduate chapter with the most outstanding scholastic achievement program and comes with a $5,000 scholarship. First runner-up is the Santa Clara chapter with a $3,000 scholarship, and second runner-up is the Central Kentucky chapter with a $2,000 scholarship.

Explore the tables below to see all of Sigma Chi’s award-winning chapters in each category.

Peterson Significant Chapter Gold Awards

To receive this award, chapters must achieve a 97 percent or higher on the score ascribed to their annual report. These chapters will receive a gold embossed seal on the certificate and be specially recognized at the Krach Transformational Leaders Workshop.

Chapter lettersUniversityProvince
Eta IotaEmbry-Riddle (Daytona Beach)Central Florida
Iota LambdaLouisvilleCentral Kentucky
Lambda EpsilonNew HavenConnecticut/Western Mass
Zeta PhiNew Mexico StateSouthwestern

Peterson Significant Chapter Blue Awards

Chapters winning this award are those groups that scored between a 90–96.99 percent on the score ascribed to their annual report. These chapters will receive a blue embossed seal on their award certificate and will receive the award at Krach Transformational Leaders Workshop.

Chapter lettersUniversityProvince
Gamma KappaA College in Logan, UtahUtah/Nevada
Gamma SigmaAuburnAlabama/Gulf Coast
Epsilon OmegaBall StateNorthern Indiana
Eta OmegaBaylorCentral Texas
Chi ChiBirmingham-SouthernAlabama Northern
Mu ZetaBrockOntario
Lambda EtaBryantRhode Island
Theta SigmaCal. Poly.-PomonaSouthern California
Epsilon EtaCal. State-FresnoCalifornia Central Valley
Mu BetaCal. State-San MarcosSouthern California
Theta OmicronCalifornia-DavisCalifornia Central Valley
Eta SigmaCalifornia-IrvineSouthern California
Delta EtaCalifornia-Los AngelesLos Angeles Coastal
Beta EtaCase WesternNorthern Ohio
Zeta PsiCincinnatiSouthern Ohio
Gamma OmegaConnecticutConnecticut/Western Mass
Lambda OmegaDePaulNorthern Illinois
XiDePauwSouthern Indiana
Eta AlphaEastern KentuckyCentral Kentucky
Gamma ThetaFloridaNorth Florida
Lambda ZetaFlorida Gulf CoastFlorida Sun Coast
Epsilon SigmaFlorida SouthernCentral Florida
Iota NuFurmanSouth Carolina
ThetaGettysburgCentral Pennsylvania
ChiHanoverSouthern Indiana
Alpha KappaHillsdaleWest Michigan
Kappa KappaIllinoisEast Illinois
Kappa UpsilonJohns HopkinsEastern
Zeta LambdaKent StateNorthern Ohio
Lambda LambdaKentuckyCentral Kentucky
Zeta Theta BKetteringEast Michigan
Zeta Theta AKetteringEast Michigan
Gamma ChiMarylandEastern
Mu EpsilonMassachusetts-AmherstConnecticut/Western Mass
AlphaMiami (Ohio)Southern Ohio
Eta GammaMiddle TennesseeMid-South
Theta EtaMissouri S & TSouthern Missouri
Beta DeltaMontanaThe Big Sky
Beta RhoMontana StateThe Big Sky
Beta XiNew MexicoSouthwestern
Kappa BetaNorth FloridaNorth Florida
Theta EpsilonNorth GeorgiaNorth Georgia
Alpha GammaOhio StateSouthern Ohio
Gamma DeltaOklahoma StateOklahoma/Arkansas
Lambda KappaR.I.T.Northwestern New York
Epsilon LambdaRiponWisconsin
Theta IotaSaint LouisNorthern Missouri
Epsilon PsiSam HoustonEast Texas
PiSamfordAlabama Northern
Delta XiSan Diego StateSouthern California
Lambda GammaSanta ClaraCalifornia Bay Area
Eta EpsilonSouth AlabamaAlabama/Gulf Coast
Delta KappaBowling GreenNorthern Ohio
Delta MuSouthern MethodistNorthern Texas
Kappa IotaSouthern UtahUtah/Nevada
Eta TauStephen F. AustinEast Texas
Alpha NuTexas-AustinCentral Texas
Beta OmegaToronto-RyersonOntario
Eta PhiTroyAlabama/Gulf Coast
Beta EpsilonUtahUtah/Nevada
Upsilon UpsilonWashington (Seattle)Northwestern
Lambda PhiWest GeorgiaNorth Georgia
Gamma XiWyomingRocky Mountain

Academic Awards

Sigma Chi recognizes academic excellence within its undergraduate chapters through the presentation of the Daniel William Cooper Award and the Legion of Honor Award. The Daniel William Cooper Award is presented annually to the undergraduate Fraternity chapter with the most outstanding academic program, while the Legion of Honor Award is presented to those chapters that have through their annual report demonstrated a commitment to academic excellence. In recognition of these chapters’ achievements, the Sigma Chi Foundation presents the winner of the Daniel William Cooper Award a $5,000 scholarship grant and the top two Legion of Honor Award chapters with a $3,000 scholarship grant and a $2,000 scholarship grant, respectively.

Chapter lettersUniversityProvinceAward
Gamma TauNorth Dakota StateNorth CentralDaniel William Cooper Award
Lambda GammaSanta ClaraCalifornia Bay AreaLegion of Honor Award
Epsilon EtaCal. State-FresnoCalifornia Central ValleyLegion of Honor Award
Iota LambdaLouisvilleCentral KentuckyLegion of Honor Award
Eta AlphaEastern KentuckyCentral KentuckyLegion of Honor Award
ThetaGettysburgCentral PennsylvaniaLegion of Honor Award
Kappa KappaIllinoisEast IllinoisLegion of Honor Award
Mu KappaNorth Carolina-WilmingtonEastern North CarolinaLegion of Honor Award
Gamma RhoDalhousie-St. Mary'sNorth AtlanticLegion of Honor Award
Iota TauSt. ThomasNorth CentralLegion of Honor Award
Upsilon UpsilonWashington (Seattle)NorthwesternLegion of Honor Award
Gamma DeltaOklahoma StateOklahoma/ArkansasLegion of Honor Award
Iota MuWilfrid LaurierOntarioLegion of Honor Award
Beta OmegaToronto-RyersonOntarioLegion of Honor Award
Mu ZetaBrockOntarioLegion of Honor Award
Epsilon OmicronWesternOntarioLegion of Honor Award
Lambda EtaBryantRhode IslandLegion of Honor Award
Lambda ThetaOttawaSaint LawrenceLegion of Honor Award
Gamma LambdaMcGillSaint LawrenceLegion of Honor Award
Eta SigmaCalifornia-IrvineSouthern CaliforniaLegion of Honor Award
ChiHanoverSouthern IndianaLegion of Honor Award
Theta EtaMissouri S & TSouthern MissouriLegion of Honor Award
AlphaMiami (Ohio)Southern OhioLegion of Honor Award
Zeta PsiCincinnatiSouthern OhioLegion of Honor Award
Epsilon NuTexas TechSouthwesternLegion of Honor Award
Beta EpsilonUtahUtah/NevadaLegion of Honor Award

Julio a. varela outstanding colony awards

Named in honor of the late Order of Constantine Sig Julio Varela, MIAMI (FLORIDA) 1983, Sigma Chi’s outstanding colony award is presented annually to those groups that demonstrate operational excellence on their campus and in the community.

Colony lettersUniversityProvince
Sigma Chi ZetaFlorida StateNorth Florida
Sigma Chi KappaRutgersHudson Valley
Sigma Chi TauWestminsterNorthern Missouri
Sigma Chi ThetaIllinois StateEast Illinois
Sigma Chi GammaSouth CarolinaSouth Carolina

2022 Sigma Chi Awards Broadcast